TT No.2: Digital Curation

Alrighty then. Part of my responsibilities for my current BU BEd I4ED course is to complete twelve”Tech Tasks (TT)”. Eleven of them are requested in the format of Blog Posts. With that in mind, I’ve decided to title my efforts accordingly.

Today’s post concerns itself with the concept of Digital Curation.

Wikipedia defines Digital Curation as  “the selection, preservation, maintenance, collection and archiving of digital assets. Digital curation establishes, maintains and adds value to repositories of digital data for present and future use”. (Digital Curation – Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia)

I organize my professional social media sites, as follows: My WordPress account is linked to my Twitter account. Pearltrees, About.me are linked to my WordPress account. Pinterest, could go either personal (boards about fitness, cars, or comics) or professional (boards about education, or art) yet I am mindful of not following or posting questionable material. RSS feeds was something I was introduced to this year, I find that I refer to it frequently, in order to keep track of the blogs I am expected to follow in class. I will admit my curiosity to linking MB Ed Distance course offerings to the class blog I am building. I wish to implement this in my next Practicum.

Overall, I consider Digital Curation as a necessity, especially with the myriad of online resources available to assist the educational efforts of teachers.

Leave a Reply

